Mo than somewhat

November 11, 2011

H.G. Nelson doesn’t have a mo but he is mo friendly if not mo mad. And when his childhood memoir My life in shorts lobbed up on the covering desk, I knew I’d found my Movember moment.

I still have cassette tapes buried at the bottom of cardboard boxes with recordings of This sporting life from Saturday afternoons c.1988. I think I even have a VHS video of Roy & H.G. calling a surf comp out of Newcastle for JJJ with vision supplied by the unsuspecting moguls at Channel 9 or Ten. Their State of Origin broadcasts are now folklore (and sorely missed) while The Dream – “hello boys” – was only pipped by Cathy Freeman in a photo for best thing about the Sydney Olympics.

Bookies at the Sports: Christmas Sports Palestine 1916

Bookies at the Sports: Christmas Sports Palestine 1916 | Flickr user DavidLKel

The Jesuits said ‘give me a child until he is seven and I will give you the man’ but you can cut out the middleman with H.G.’s pants-around-the-ankle tell-all tales of ‘thumps, bumps and dumps.’

As a second summer pick I recommend you reach for the Damon Runyon stories, collected in various editions (even this ebook omnibus), all told with a similarly invigorating verve for the vernacular.

b3rn

Leave a Reply

